What crowns does a Christian receive?

The Five Crowns of Reward

Scripture speaks of crowns of which there are two kinds in Greek. The crown of the type diadem is the king's crown, pertaining to the royal nature of the person or position. The Lord Jesus Christ wears a diadem (Revelation 19:12). The crown others wear as a reward is the stephanos which is best described as the 'victor's' crown. This crown is awarded to the winner of a race, spoken of by Paul. The one who overcomes in spiritual warfare is crowned with a stephanos (used 18 times in Scripture) at the Judgement Seat of the Messiah (2 Corinthians 5:10, Romans 14:10). There are five crowns (στέφανος) available for reward. Jesus speaks of these crowns in a parable (Luke 19:11-27) and indicates that the authority given to a saved believer will be at different levels of responsibility.


1 Corinthians 9:24-27 Incorruptible This crown is awarded to the one who has exercised self-control in all things, and gained mastery over the flesh – that is the "old man" or natural man – the sin-nature of all. In essence it means the one who has his or her life controlled by the Holy Spirit.
1 Thessalonians 2:19-20 Rejoicing The evangelist who win's souls for Jesus our Messiah is provided the crown of rejoicing. The fruit of the labour of the evangelist is people coming to the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ - Yeshua and Messiah.
2 Timothy 4:8 Righteousness The crown of life is provided to the one who has endured trials, keeping faith (in the ways of the Bible and in moral living) and who 'love His appearing'. Hence the focus is always on Christ, the Saviour, thus a Christian needs to be expectant of Christ's return and long for it.
James 1:12;
Revelation 2:10
Life The one who endures – does not stumble or fall away due to temptations (affliction or trials) and for the one who suffers martyrdom for their faith in Jesus Christ.
1 Peter 5:2-4 Glory This crown belongs to the one who faithfully tends the flock of God, hence available to those that feed the sheep meat of the Word of God.

David L Simon 16 October 2016
\Questions\What crowns does a believer receive – the five crowns of reward?